How you can do a DMV change of Address in California

0
64 views
How you can do a DMV change of Address in California

Zixno.com,There are a lot of reasons that people move to California: the sunshine, the beaches, the great food, the chance to spot celebrities in the wild. But if you’re moving to California you’ll have to be sure to cross a couple big things off of your list before you get your toes in the sand, including completing all of your necessary California DMV change of address forms.

Any time you move and bring a car along with you both in state and out of state you are required to update your address with your local Department of Motor Vehicles. This is to ensure that your vehicle’s registration and your driving records are up to date. And in California, you only have 10 days to notify the DMV of your change of address, so it’s important to act fast.

Here’s how to do it.

If You’re Moving to California from Another State

Will you need to get a new driver’s license if moving to California from another state?

Yes.

How do you get one?

To get a California driver’s license as a formerly out-of-state resident you’ll have to go to the DMV directly and apply. Schedule an appointment in advance so that you don’t have to waste your day standing in line.

Is there a fee?

Yes. Costs vary though, so check out the list of California driver’s license/identification card application fees ahead of time to see what will apply to you.

Does a California DMV change of address require a driving test?

Not if you pass the written and vision test (unless you’re moving to California from another country, in which case you will be required to take a driving test).

How many days do you have to get a California driver’s license or ID card?

10 days.

Will you need to update your vehicle’s registration?

Yes.

How do you update your vehicle’s registration as a new resident of California?

You’ll need to bring your car to the DMV, as well as the following information:

  • An REG 343 form (Application for Title or Registration), filled out and signed by all registered owners of the car.
  • Your last issued out of state title if there will be a change of registered owner and a California title request.
  • Your most recently issued registration certificate or renewal notice for the current year, or a letter from the last registration jurisdiction verifying the vehicle’s registration period.
  • Smog certification (if applicable)
  • Weight certification (if applicable)

Your car will need to be inspected by a California DMV employee at no charge.

What is the registration fee?

$60, though other fees may apply.

How many days do you have to update your vehicle’s registration?

20 days.

If You’re Moving Within California

Per California law you will have just 10 days to update your address with DMV. There are four ways to do this:

  1. Fill out a California DMV change of address form online. You can find it here.
  2. Request that a change of address form be mailed to you. Call 1-800-777-0133 to place your request and you will receive your form within five days. Complete the form and then mail it back to the address that is listed at the top of the form.
  3. Go to the DMV. Find a DMV near you and fill out a California DMV change of address form in person. You will be provided with a Change of Address Certificate card that you are to complete and carry in your wallet with your driver’s license.
  4. Download the Change of Address form at home. Print out form DMV 14, fill it out, and mail it to the address listed at the top.(Top 10 Best Real Estate Companies in Qatar)

How much does a California change of address cost?

There is no fee to change your address in California.

What information do you need to provide to update your address on your driver’s license?

To change your address on your driver’s license or identification card, you will need:

  • Your current driver’s license number and issue date
  • Your social security card
  • Proof of your date of birth
  • Proof of your old and new address (utility bills, pay stubs, etc.)

Will California issue you a new driver’s license if you’re moving within the state?

No.

Will you need to update your vehicle’s registration?

Yes, within 10 days of your move.

What information do you need to provide to update your address on your vehicle’s registration?

To change your address for your vehicle’s registration, you will need:

  • Proof of your old and new address
  • Your most recent registration card
  • The name of the company you lease you car from (if applicable)
  • The address where your trailer coach or vessel is located (if applicable)

If You’re Moving From California to Another State

Do you need to notify the California DMV if you’re moving to another state without a registered car?

No. Once you successfully obtain a new driver’s license in the state you’ve moved to your California driver’s license will be automatically canceled.

Do you need to notify the California DMV if you’re moving to another state with your registered vehicle?

Yes. If you’re moving to another state and planning to register your vehicle in your new state of residence you will have 10 days to notify the California DMV of your change of address. You can do so with the standard California DMV Change of Address form (DMV 14).

What will you need to provide to update your vehicle’s registration?

  • Your completed California DMV Change of Address form
  • Your driver’s license number
  • Your license plate number
  • Proof of your old and new address

Do you need to return your California license plates?

No.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here